The floodgates have opened?

So, I’ve been surprised to find that this blogging thing is actually not as hard as it looks. When I set my goal back at the failure club post with the modest idea of 52 blogs in 52 weeks I thought that it was going to be hard. I also thought that no one was going to read it. Well, seems that I was wrong on both counts.

It was incredible to see my first like, follow, comment and reblog. I was alternately excited, scared, moved, scared, happy, scared…apparently I’m actually a rabbit. I’m still working out how all this works, so do bear with me as I go. I think there may be lots more in store, considering this is my 6th blog in 5 weeks, which, I guess, makes it a bonus blog since I only needed 5 to be on track as of today. Woo hoo! Thank you for all your support. I think it’s actually you out there in blog land that have encouraged me this far. So, thank you, thank you, thank you.

Now, it seems that my blog is about social issues mostly, but I wanted to use today’s blog to reintroduce myself.  You see, my original about me from last September was the somewhat embarrassing: “I’m not sure it really matters. Does it? I want to make a living off writing, so this is my labour of love. Learn about me through my posts, not through the flawed glass in which I see myself.” Now that I know people are actually reading this it seems a bit stupid. Yes, I want to remain anonymous. Yes, I’d love to actually have doing this every day be the way I survive instead of the daily grind we all fall into. But I don’t have to be a douche about it. Sure, I’m seeing myself through flawed glass, who doesn’t? I’ve been reading more blogs lately, and it’s nice to go to the about me and find something relevant. So, I knew the old cranky pants one had to go; it was at the very least, impolite.

It’s a bit ironic to post this, since I was worried about narcissism in my very first post, but it seems like fun. Goodbye ugly, short, clichéd about me, hello more relevant, fun, wordy, and waxing poetic about me. Sometimes the delete key is a wonderful thing.

About me:

Once upon a time there was a person who loved to write. They loved books and stories and could find some amazing jewels of information in even the most dark and gloomy tales. They believed that there was great sorrow in this world, and also great joy, so both needed to be considered equally and neither should be ignored, and thus made inconsequential.

Life, in its essence, had become a quest for information, for hidden truth, beauty, pain, and the overcoming of obstacles. Yet it was still a journey, in flux, changing with the winds from day to day. The path, once so straight, meandered into the sunset, and then came back again, chasing the clouds. The weather came in cycles: Pouring rain in bright sunshine, mists crawling from the earth, sunshine burning through the mists. Rinse. Repeat.

They found that the greatest challenge in life, sometimes, was just to keep going. Sometimes, it was most challenging keeping their eyes open, to see what was truly there, and looking beyond their own perceptions and misconceptions. Some things are hard to see, but if truth is courageously shared, then they felt duty bound to see it and share it alike.

If they can touch one life, or two, along the way for the better…If they can be the change they want to see, to show the truth that many hide from…If they can be strong and champion for the wounded and voiceless…If they can dream without limits, love without condition, and care without being asked…If they can be kind, even when it’s not warranted…and, if they never give up being fascinated with the unknown, with knowledge, and constantly seek the reason behind the fantastic and strange…then they might be able to live happily ever after.

And they might just write a blog about it.

Leave a Reply

