Buffy the Vampire Slayer – Passion Quote

Buffy_the_Vampire_Slayer_title_cardI came to the Buffy the Vampire slayer series by Joss Whedon way late in the game. In fact, the game was over…for a few years. I loved and owned the movie, but wasn’t too interested in a TV show based on it, thinking the original could never really be trumped by a TV show. What a silly closed minded Buffy snob I was.

When I did get around to watching Buffy, it was when I had access to full seasons (thank you local library) so I could now watch episodes back to back in a glut of evil slaying glee. It was pretty awesome. I especially loved the characters around Buffy who supported her in their loyal, quirky and cool ways.

I devoured those episodes. When there wasn’t a scrap of Buffy left to be found, I eventually went on to Angel, and then realized that there was a sequence and overlap to the shows, which I had been missing out on before. So, with a handy link to watching the episodes in the most productive order, and Netflix giving full access to full seasons of both shows, I’ve been re-watching them.

Although there are a bunch of episodes that I’m quite fond of, one of my favourites was from season 2 (Episode 17) called passion.  Narrated by one of the characters throughout this episode is a quote about passion, which I really like and I’ve noted below. In the show it was broken up so that the quote was not told all at once, but cut into pieces and spread around to highlight certain scenes. Up to that point it was probably one of the more moving episodes in the series, so the quote worked really well with it.

So, without much further adieu, my favourite Buffy quote. And, should you wish to hear it without picture spoilers I’ve included it in a video link below I found on Youtube which also has Christophe Beck’s score “Remembering Jenny” which I believe also includes some vocalizing by Anthony Stewart Head’s character, Giles :

“Passion. It lies in all of us. Sleeping… waiting… and though unwanted, unbidden, it will stir… open its jaws and howl.

It speaks to us… guides us. Passion rules us all. And we obey. What other choice do we have?

Passion is the source of our finest moments. The joy of love… the clarity of hatred… the ecstasy of grief.

It hurts sometimes more than we can bear. If we could live without passion, maybe we’d know some kind of peace. But we would be hollow. Empty rooms, shuttered and dank, without passion, we’d be truly dead.”
– Narrated by Angel’s bad persona Angelus in Buffy the Vampire slayer Season 2 episode 17, Passion.

Are you a Buffy fan? Do you have a favourite season, episode, character or quote? I’d love to talk Buffy with you. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Buffy the Vampire Slayer – Passion Quote

    • Oh, yeah. Good one! That whole episode was extremely well done and I loved how they captured the disconnected feel of shock in all the characters throughout. I agree, that episode was really powerful.

      Like

  1. Pingback: The Cast of Buffy Reunites! | Lives In Stone

Leave a Reply

