The Aftermath

Eyes in the darkness

I strain to see

Eyes softly searching

I feel weak

Eyes closed forever

I can’t breathe

Eyes alone together

I need sleep

Eyes peer too deeply

I can’t know

Eyes try to greet me

I can’t go

Eyes fill with wonder

I might hide

Eyes fill with hatred

I can’t abide

Eyes of sympathy

I am ashamed

Eyes cry with me

I am pain

Eyes search horizons

I can’t reach

Eyes search reflections

I’m not me

Eyes of compassion

I don’t need

Eyes in the darkness

I can’t see

______________________

Chant Poem for dVerse

8 thoughts on “The Aftermath

  1. I love the progression in this… to me the most telling part of the whole poem is

    Eyes of compassion
    I don’t need

    Being a victim is hard enough without having to express gratitude for that compassion with the sole purpose of making the observer feel good.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment